Call for nominations for the Richard von Mises Prize of the International Association of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics (GAMM) 2013

Since 1989, the Richard von Mises Prize is awarded every year by GAMM to a scientist for exceptional scientific achievements in the field of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics.

Traditionally, GAMM will present the prize during the opening ceremony of the GAMM Annual Meeting and the prize winner will present his research in a plenary talk.

The aim of the prize is to reward and encourage young scientists whose research represents a major advancement in the field of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics.

The winner should not be older than 36 years except if he or she has a broken career.

Nominations can be made by university professors or academic persons in similar positions. Self nomination is accepted.

Nominations should contain a justification letter by the nominating persons and the following material concerning the nominee:

-    curriculum vitae,
-    list of publications,
-    copies of the most important articles (at most 4).

Nominations should be sent to the president of GAMM, Prof. Dr. Volker Mehrmann, preferably in electronic form.

The deadline for nomination is September 30th, 2012.

The  Richard-von-Mises Prize committee has the following members:

A. Bertram, Magdeburg (2011-2016)
S. Müller, Bonn (2011-2016)
U. Langer, Linz 
H. C. Kuhlmann, Vienna (2013-2018)
President of GAMM
V. Mehrmann, Berlin (chair)

Prof. Volker Mehrmann
Technische Universität Berlin
Institut für Mathematik, MA 4-5
Straße des 17. Juni 136
10623 Berlin

Tel.:     +49-(0)30-314-25736
Fax:     +49-(0)30-314-79706
E-Mail:   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it